Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
ocelot: (Default)
[livejournal.com profile] koyote has decided we have to get our lives more organized, and has bought us bigass planners we have to carry everywhere.

I suppose that if I have to carry this thing around everywhere, I may as well use it.

The problem - we have planners, and we have PDAs/computers. PDAs and computers sync well as it is, but I know I'm going to have a hard enough time keeping records in one place, let alone two. Problem 2 - we may soon want to integrate non-Mac users into the calendaring portion of things (and I'm not sure we'll want to keep renewing .mac endlessly). Switching to gCalendar would make this relatively easy, but can all of this sync all together?

The easiest option at this point for syncing the paper/electronic stuff is to print out calendar pages every so often rather than using the included ones (they're standard half page, we have a hole punch, it works). That way I don't have to try to write in all the regularly reoccuring stuff, just new things that come up.

The other easiest option is to just give up the electronic part, but that means a lot of communication and repetitive filling in records.
ocelot: (Default)
I'm whining. Feel free to ignore.

I'm sick with a cold bordering on a sinus infection. Yuck. Im staying home from work though I'm not sure it's actually bad enough to use a sick day because I don't know if I can stand another day as long and boring as yesterday.

I signed up for a self hypnosis class at the experimental college which was supposed to start yesterday. I went to the room printed on the receipt, but no one else showed up. I suspect they gave me the wrong information - the dates printed on the receipt were wrong (Mondays, Jan. 21 and 28), and I'd already called to confirm the date, but didn't think to confirm the room as well. I really hope they'll give me a refund - it's only a two week class, so I've already missed a good portion of it, and I really can't afford to pay for a semi-useless class right now.

The cat is acting bizarre, crawling around in boxes and being generally destructive. Weirdo.

I'm debating whether I want to go ahead with the AFP test or not. It's a blood test that they do to determine whether there is a risk of certain birth defects. If it comes back positive, they'll do an amniocentesis, which carries the risk of miscarriage. The thing is, it has a very high rate of false positives, and a pretty high false negative rate as well. I'm not planning to have an abortion if something is wrong (a lot of the terribly bizarre completely incompatible with life legs growing out of the head type birth defects have already been ruled out by the first ultrasound, though we're not entirely sure that she isnt actually a hamster), so what is the point of risking an amnio over a test of questionable reliability? And what's the point of taking the test of questionable reliability if I'm not planning on acting on it and I'm just going to get myself all worked up over the results?

The college dropped me from the classes I signed up for, presumably because I haven't paid yet. I signed up again, but wasn't able to get back on the waiting list for the online class, despite spaces remaining. It's closed for some reason. I'm still going to the class for the orientation tomorrow to see if I can get into it, but I'm not counting on it.

If I can't get into it, I'm just taking the one class (assuming it doesn't get cancelled due to low enrollment! Agh!) and not graduating this semester. Antelope Valley College appears to have plenty of women-oriented courses, so I should be able to finish the degree with a class from there sometime next year. Or take an online class from SCC in the fall or something. I'm not going to kill myself going back and forth from Sacramento twice a week for the rest of this semester. I just don't think I'll be able to keep it up towards the end.

In other news, I got the TV card working the other day. I can watch TV again, yay! Now I just have to see if it will work properly with the VCR so I can stop begging other people to tape Buffy for me. I'm two weeks behind, now. The local station put off this week's episode until Sunday because of a basketball game. I'd be really annoyed by this except that I would have missed it anyways because of the stupid non-existant self-hypnosis class.

Now I will go back to sleep or something.
ocelot: (Default)
I don't usually do New Years resolutions (since they usually don't go anywhere and just make me feel guilty), but I was thinking about it tonight, and these seem reasonable. Sticking them up in public will hopefully give me incentive to actually carry through with them.

1. Get in better physical shape, and don't increase my clothing size. If I lose weight, do so in a healthy manner.

2. Improve my writing skills, and stop avoiding things that require deep thought.

3. Either stop fretting about money, or start budgeting and paying better attention to what I'm spending so that I can do something about it.
Click here for more explanation )

Profile

ocelot: (Default)
ocelot

April 2011

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627 282930

Most Popular Tags

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Style Credit

Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 10:33 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios